• Facebook Social Icon

© Copyright jasonlynnracing.co.uk 2018.

  • Derek Wilson

Ulster Superbike Championship Round 8.

Nico Mawhinney had an emotional win in the Ulster Superbike Championship at Kirkistown Race track today. After recovering from severe injuries he returned to the Ulster Championship this year, up until now things hadn’t quite gone to plan having suffered a number of crashes. Today he made amends with a win in the opening superbike race of todays meeting.

Barry Graham got the hole shot off the line but by the end of the lap Kirk had taken the lead. By mid point him and Mawhinney had opened a gap from the chasing pack of Graham, Armstrong, Kinghan and Phillips.

On the final lap Mawhinney made his move to the front he held his nerve on the final drag to the line taking the chequered flag just 0.053 seconds in front of Kirk with Gerard Kinghan third, Aaron Armstrong fourth, championship leader Carl Phillips was fifth on his own Suzuki after parting company with the JMcC Roofing team which he has had so much success with so far this year.

Race two and Kirk was out for revenge taking the lead from the start. As in race one it was Mawhinney who was his only real challenge, but this time out he held on to his lead the winning margin just 0.166 seconds. Third to fifth places the same as in race one.

Jason Lynn continued his unbeaten run since returning to the Ulster Championship with another two victories in the supersport races. Playing catch up after missing rounds 2,3 & 4 due to competing in the BSB Supersport Championship he started the day 27 points in arrears of championship leader Mark Conlin. Conlin however had a disastrous day crashing out of both races and scoring no points.

With two rounds and six races remaining Christian Elkin has a 15 point lead ahead of Lynn, but with Lynns recent form a fourth consecutive championship must be firmly in his sights.

Lynns double win also earned him the Crown Prince of Kirkistown trophy which was presented to the Supersport rider with most points from the two races.

Both of Supertwin races finished the same way with, Kevin Lavery, Gary McCoy and Mark Abraham first second and third respectively.

Jonny Singleton and Lee Chambers and Jonny Campbell and Michael Owens shared the honours with a win each in the Superbike and Supersport Club races.

Campbell had two wins in the supersport 300 class.

Stephen McKeown once again showed his dominance in the Light weight supersport races with another two wins, extending his lead over Kris Duncan who was absent from todays meeting.

#AraiHellmets #JennyNolan #AJPlumbingSuppliea #RST #UnlimitedIndustries #AaronsGym #KirkistownRaceTrack #UlsterSuperbikeChampionship #WalterBellYamaha #SlemmishWater #JasonLynnracing