• Derek Wilson

Kinghan And Lynn do the double at Kirkistown

Randalstowns Gerard Kinghan extended his lead in the Ulster Superbike Championship with another double win at Kirkistown race circuit yesterday (Saturday).

The first superbike race saw Kinghan, Ali Kir

k and David Haire battle it out over the six lap race. It was pole man Kirk who led off the line a lead he held until the fifth lap, Kinghan making his move to the front to take the win with less than half a second splitting the trio at the chequered flag. Kirk was second and Haire third.

Race two Kinghan had an easier time of it, he took the lead on the opening lap eventually stretching the gap to 1.6 seconds leaving Kirk and Haire to fight it out for the runner up spot. Kirk again clinched second with Haire 3.07 seconds behind in third.

Haire did however break Cameron Donalds long standing lap record of the Kirkistown circuit clocking a time of 55.198 seconds.

In the supersport races championship leader Jason Lynn was pushed hard by Mark Conlin.

In the opening race having slid off in qualifying Lynn had a bit of making up to do starting from fourth on the grid. He quickly made up the deficit and by lap three he was on the tail pipe of race leader Conlin, taking the lead on lap five, Conlin was not for giving in to easily and pushed Lynn all the way to the flag. Lynn taking the win by only 0.061 seconds with Christian Elkin third.

Race two again it was Conlin who got the perfect start opening a gap at the front as Lynn had to make his way through slower riders. It looked like Conlin was going to take the win as he led into the hairpin for the final time, but Lynn made a brilliant move and passed him around the outside getting the better drive out of the corner and winning the drag to the line this time winning by just over half a second. Christian Elkin was again third.

Lynn now has a 59 point lead in the Championship by 59 points from second place Christian Elkin.

Mark Hanna won both the Supertwin races with Cahal Graham and Gary McCoy getting a second and third a piece.

Johnny Aitken was the winner in the first Pre Injection race in front of Andrew Brady and Johnny Irwin. Andrew Brady won the second of the Pre Injection races and the Crown Prince Of Kirkistown for the fourth time.

Gary McCoy had two wins in the Lightweight supersport races, Dean Campbell and Stephen McKeown were second and third respectively in both outings.

A few days after announcing his retirement from road racing Paul Robinson had a double win in the GP125 class.

Cameron Dawson won both the Junior races and Joshua Rae both the Young Guns.

#AraiHelmets #DunlopTyres #HMTMotorcycles #AJPlumbingSupplies #EICLAirConditioning #UlsterSuperbikeChampionship #DawnInternational #UlsterSupersportChampion #YamahaR6 #JasonLynn #WhatsOnNI #JennyGartland #UnlimitedIndustries #KirkistownRaceTrack #jasonlynnracingcouk

  • Facebook Social Icon

© Copyright jasonlynnracing.co.uk 2018.