• Derek Wilson

Double Masters Win For Seeley But Kinghan Lifts The Norman Brown Cup

Randalstowns Gerard Kingahan won the Norman Brown Memorial Cup yesterday at Bishopscourt Racing Circuit.
Having dominated the first two Masters Superbike races earlier in the meeting it was Alastair Seeley who started as the hot favorite to take the win but his hat-trick attempt was short lived when on lap two of the feature race when he slid off at the hairpin unhurt. This left the door open for Masters regulars Gerard Kinghan and Charles Stuart and they both took full advantage, the pair gapping the rest of the field. Kinghan controlled the remainder of the race from the front increasing his lead slightly lap on lap taking the chequered flag 2.66 seconds in front of Stuart with Peter Moloney in third a further 5 ½ seconds behind.
Taking a break from his Spirit Moto2 development duties at Cadwell Park Seeley took up the offer of the IFS Yamaha R1 previously raced in the Masters Championship by Ryan Rainey, this being his first appearance in the Masters Championship since 2009. Immediately he stamped his authority qualifying on pole and then winning the opening two Superbike races in dominant style winning both encounters by just over 11 seconds, Gerard Kinghan was second and Charles Stuart third in both outings.The best and closest fought races of the day were the hotly contested Superport races. Race one Jason Lynn led from the off closely chased by Ross Patterson and his team mate Aaron Clifford. On the last lap Patterson took the lead going into the final chicane a lead he held to take the win by 0.171 seconds from Lynn with Clifford 1.3 seconds behind.
The Supersport class produced its usual closely fought races with Jason Lynn, Ross Patterson and Aaron Clifford holding the top three spots in both championship encounters. Like in Superbike, the Supersport podium was identical in both races, but the result of each was in doubt right up until the flag. Race one saw Jason Lynn lead away from the lights with Patterson second. Clifford dropped back slightly at the start and had to work hard to close back in on the leaders but ran out of laps and had to settle for third and fastest lap of the race. At the front Lynn led until late on in the final tour when he got mugged by Patterson, who then held on through the final few corners to take an important victory and close the gap to Lynn at the head of the table. Mark Conlin was fourth ahead of 'Cup' winner Eunan McGlinchey.
Clifford lined up on pole for race two but a poor start saw him again in third place at the end of lap one. Patterson got away best to lead fastest lap on his way to the final podium place, whilst his rival for third place in the championship, McGlinchey, took his second 'Cup' win of the day on the way to fifth place overall just behind Conlin. The Supersport Championship will now be a straight fight between Lynn and Patterson when the series returns to Mondello Park for the Championship finale.
The Principal Insurance Pre-Injection championship standings were left unchanged following Bishopscourt as Joe Grant and Darryl Sharkey each took a win and a second place to cancel each others results out and leave the gap at the top at eight points in favour of Sharkey. Grant won race one, helped in part by Sharkey getting caught out by the lights on the re-start, following a short stoppage due to an incident. The Championship leader later made amends by taking a dominant victory in race two. The Masters makes its final trip of the season to Mondello Park on September 30th and October 1st when the championship will be decided on the International Track. For further information on the Masters Superbike Championship see the series' web site www.masterssuperbike.ie.

#JasonLynn #RichieRyan #MastersSupersportPro #MondelloMastersChampionship #GerardKinghan #AlastairSeeley #RossPatterson #AaronClifford #BishopscourtRacingCircuit

  • Facebook Social Icon

© Copyright jasonlynnracing.co.uk 2018.